The Great Synagogue of Rome
the largest synagogue in Rome.
Today, a diverse community of 15,000 Jews lives in Rome, At least 13 synagogues can be found in Rome, including a special synagogue for the Libyan Jews who immigrated to Rome after the Six-Day War in 1967. Three of thirteen synagogues are located under the same roof at Via Balbo 33 (Itlaki, Sephardic and Ashkenazi). The Italian chief rabbi officiates at the Great Synagogue of Rome and heads the country's rabbinical council.
History

Thus, they are not Sephardi (from the eastern or Arab countries) or Askenazi (from Eastern Europe), and they have their own rite called Nusach Italki. Even in Hebrew, they are distinct, and called “Romanim.”
The present Synagogue was constructed shortly after the unification of Italy in 1870, when the Kingdom of Italy captured Rome and the Papal States ceased to exist. The Roman Ghetto was demolished and the Jews were granted citizenship. The building which had previously housed the ghetto synagogue (a complicated structure housing five scolas in a single building) was demolished, and the Jewish community began making plans for a new and impressive building.
The Synagogue was Designed Neo-Assyrian with a Neo Byzantine plan and a general Neo Classical exterior. style by Vincenzo Costa and Osvaldo Armanni, the synagogue was built from 1901 to 1904 on a site of 3,373 square metres on the banks of the Tiber, overlooking the former ghetto, created in 1555 by the Pope Paul IV Carafa, where all the Jews were constricted to live.
When the ghetto was opened, in 1870, many buildings were not good to live and they were destroyed. The Great Synagogue took the place of some of these buildings. The Jewish Community bought the plot from the City Council after thirteen years of negotiations. All the members of the Community gave some money to build it, even if the Community was not rich at all. Many people assisted to the inauguration taking place on 28 luglio 1904, the King of italy Vittorio Emanuele the III also came.
A memorial plaque was set in the entrance hall to the synagogue this way the jews of rome managed to declare their arising from depth to higher grounds("מבירא עמיקתא לאיגרא רמא")

Commemorative plates honour the local Jewish victims of Nazi Germany. and of a a Palestine Liberation Organization attack which took place on the 9th of october 1982 during the Lebanon war, caused the death of Stefano Gaj(2 years old), and the wounding of 37 people. which is also the reason why the synagogue is heavily guarded by Carabinieri(italy's state police) the entrance is not freely allowed and a security check is necessary in order to enter.
On 13 April 1986, Pope John Paul II made an unexpected visit to the Great Synagogue. This 
on 17 January 2010, Pope Benedict XVI visited the Synagogue, Riccardo Di Segni, chief rabbi of Rome, and Riccardo Pacifici, president of the Jewish Community of Rome, welcomed the pope on the steps of the synagogue amid thunderous cheers of "Viva il Papa!" Benedict was accompanied by Archbishop Fouad Twal, the Latin patriarch of Jerusalem, and Archbishop Antonio Franco, apostolic nuncio in Israel, to underscore his encouragement of inter-religious relations by drawing Rome and Israel closer together. Despite the trite headlines about the "Pope's Controversial Visit,"(reason of him Making Pope Pius the XII a saint in spite of his silence during the holocaust and numerous other affairs.) there was no real controversy; the chief rabbi had extended the invitation to Benedict in 2006 and the Roman Jewish community pulled out all the stops for this event.
The synagogue celebrated its centenary in 2004. In addition to serving
as a house of worship, it is also serves a
cultural and organizational centre for the Jewish community of Rome. It houses the offices of the Chief Rabbi of Rome, as well as the Jewish Museum of Rome.
On 17 January 2005, thirteen cantors, in conjunction with the Jewish Ministers Cantors Association of America (the Chazzanim Farband), performed in a cantorial concert for the first time in the synagogue's history.
Address:
Lungotevere Cenci – Rome
Telephone:
+39.06.68400651-2
Open:
Daily services
Opening Hours:
Shacharit: Weekday 7:45 AM, Shabbos-Holidays 8:30 AM.
Mincha-Maariv: on time.
Responsible: Rabbi Riccardo Shmuel Di Segni (Chief Rabbi);
Kiddush served after Shabbat Shacharit services.
Disabled access is available.
Identification necessary to enter, clear security before Shabbat.
No cameras allowed even on cellphones.
Tours of the synagogue are available through the Jewish Museum.
The Jewish Museum in Rome

Over two millenia, the Jewish community has left behind some of the most compelling records and artifacts ever found in Europe. The Tempio Maggiore, has recently inaugurated a permanent exhibition that narrates the history of the Jewish presence in Rome, and also displays numerous precious and beautifully crafted ritual objects, including many fine embroidered coverings for the scrolls of the Torah.
Despite the enforced poverty of the Ghetto, the Jews confined there managed to scrape together sufficient resources to ensure that the finest artisans in Italy were employed for such objects.
Many of these archaeological finds are showcased in Rome's newly renovated Jewish museum. Although the museum has been open and functioning since 1960, a new European Union-funded $2 million renovation gave the museum a complete remodeling. Instead of merely exhibiting artifacts, the museum incorporates them with photographs and documents to narrate the history of Rome's Jewish community, the oldest community of its kind in Europe.
The museum is host to several exhibits which highlight the Jewish connection to Rome. The Gallery of Antique Marbles is a collection of precious marbles from the synagogues of the Ghetto of Rome. The Gallery contains over 100 inscriptions and architectural elements that vary in size and content. According to the museum,
“The subjects of the inscriptions vary but together they illustrate the social fabric, daily life and history of the Jewish Community and its presence in Rome. They commemorate donations from wealthy families and the purchase of cemetery plots. They forbid bringing leavened bread into areas where unleavened bread is baked and record the activities of the confraternities of charitable works. There are also family coats of arms decorating objects that the families donated to the community.”
Another permanent exhibit is the textile collection, which contains around 800 quality textiles from the 15th to the 19th centuries. The museum has planned to build a Textile Preservation Center, which will house some of the museum's most important finds. The fabrics will be placed in air-tight storage containers to prevent dust and sunlight that could be harmful to the antiques.
Useful information:
Lungotevere Cenci (Sinagoga) – 00186 Roma
Info: 06.68400661
info@museoebraico.roma.it
Hours:
Sundays – Thursdays: 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM (from June to September: 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM).
Fridays: 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM (from June to September: 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM) .
Saturdays, Jewish Holidays, January 1, August 15: closed
Catholic Holidays: closed afternoons

